Mar. 11, 1979
Your rating: 0
8 1 vote

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Mar. 11, 1979
2Season 2 Apr. 13, 1980
3Season 3 Jan. 18, 1981


Agony is a British sitcom that aired on ITV from 1979 to 1981. It starred Maureen Lipman as a successful agony aunt but whose own personal life and marriage is a disaster. It was written by Len Richmond, Anna Raeburn, Stan Hey and Andrew Nickolds. It was made for the ITV network by LWT. Although a comedy, Agony sometimes dealt with issues that were seen as taboo at the time such as drug use, racism, abortion, interracial relationships, and swinging, and was the first British sitcom to portray a gay couple as non-camp, witty, intelligent and happy people. It also openly mocked the government, the ruling classes, and religion, and occasionally contained dark and dramatic storylines.

Original title Agony
TMDb Rating 8 2 votes
First air date Mar. 11, 1979
Last air date Mar. 01, 1981
Seasons 3
Episodes 20
Average Duration 30 minutes

Similar titles

So You Think You’ve Got Troubles
Schitt’s Creek
Meet the Richardsons
Brass Eye
After Henry
Trial & Error
Rick and Morty
The Wrong Mans
Andy Capp
Gone to Seed
The Trouble with Maggie Cole